Governance, Finance and Organisation


The Board of Leigh Academies Trust has a range of powers and responsibilities which it is legally required to carry out, working in a close and balanced partnership with the Chief Executive and Principals, to ensure that the Academy provides the best possible education for all its students.

Detailed work is carried out in two Committees: Academic Standards and Resources which report to the full Board of Governors.

The Leigh UTC also has its own local Academy Board. The Academy Board is responsible for the governance of the Academy. The majority of the day-to-day leadership and management is delegated to the Principal of the Academy. The Chair of the Academy Board is represented on the Trust Board to ensure that there is effective and coherent governance.

The Leigh University Technical College Board

  • Mr K Ellis – Chair
  • Mr C Barker – Vice Chair
  • Mr D Brown
  • Mr C Burch
  • Mrs K Gunn
  • Mrs J Robinson
  • Mrs Collingwood – Parent Governor
  • Mr S Leahey – Principal Governor
  • Miss S Dickinson – Staff Governor
  • Dr S Woodhead – University Governor

Leigh UTC Board

List of Governors’ Interests

Terms of Reference – The Leigh UTC Board

LAT Governance Structure

Governance Structure Chart for NW Kent

Governors’ Attendance Records

Further information regarding governance can be found here


Finance & Organisation

Information regarding organisation and finance, including Annual Report, Annual Audited Accounts, Memorandum of Association, Articles of Association and Funding Agreement, can be found here